Skip to content

No one to blame

May 4, 2010

Michael Douglas has been in the news today regarding his addict son. I read that Michael holds himself responsible in part for his son’s addiction because he was an absent parent. Isn’t this enabling? I do not blame my parents for my addiction. I can’t. They were good parents even though my dad could also be labeled as an absent father. He was always too busy with his own life and did not participate in parenting. My mother, on the other hand, was always there for me. She was an excellent mother.  I had an awesome home life, for the most part. So…..who can I blame for my addiction? Who can I point my finger at and say, “it’s all your fault!”

There is no one to blame.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 5:48 am

    There is no one to blame and it can take years for the addict and the family to stop asking themselves ‘why’?
    This is one complex disease and good on you for taking it each day at a time.

    • May 12, 2010 10:08 am

      I guess it is just human nature to want to blame someone. I tried blaming others at first. I have even put the blame on doctors who prescribed me knowing I did not have a chronic pain problem. But, accountability and recovery came for me AFTER I stopped blaming others and accepted my disease and all that it entails.

Leave a Reply

