Skip to content

I Hate the Circus

May 6, 2010

“Just because you got the monkey off your back doesn’t mean the circus has left town.” – George Carlin

I have made the mistake many of times of thinking I had this thing licked. I have even let myself believe I was strong enough and capable of just using one time. A month or two down the road, I am then kicking myself in the ass because it’s back to square one. The good news is….square one is always an option, well, unless your dead. Thank God everyday affords us the opportunity for a new beginning.

I must remind myself each and every day that this “circus” will in fact never leave town. It is a permanent one. This is a disease which is manageable. But it must always be managed with the utmost importance. My sobriety is a serious issue. It not only impacts my life but it also impacts the lives of my family.

This is my reminder today. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 6:02 am

    I try to keep in mind that I do not have to worry about the foreverness of my alcoholism. I only have to decide that today I will not drink (or drug). I used to tire of this kind of mantra. But today, it is so freeing to me. I am years clean/sober. Yet today, something triggered a using thought and memory. I began to think about how long I could stay sober with this kind of temptation jumping on me. I then quickly remembered, it doesnt matter how long I have to last, because all I have is today and today I will not drink or drug. It is not 11:05 pm and I will be sleeping soon. I made yet another decision to stay clean/sober for another day. Tomorrow will unfold as it does. I will make a new decision when it gets here.

    So dont worry about sustaining beyond today. Then relax and enjoy. I agree whole heartedly, square 1 is a great option. Not everyone has it.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    • onepillawayfromchaos permalink
      May 7, 2010 10:23 am

      Thanks for the reminder. I’m gonna use that today and only focus on today. So, it’s a GREAT and SOBER Friday for me 🙂 I appreciate your comment and wish you a wonderfully sober Friday as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

