Skip to content

Overwhelmed and in need of a name

May 8, 2010
I’m in a bit of a depressive state today. I have so much to get done today and that sometimes results in me feeling overwhelmed. I’m feeling that right now and my body’s response to it is to simply shut down. It’s hard to get motivated to even take a shower. Then the longer I put my errands and life’s duties off, the more behind I get and the more overwhelmed I feel. It’s like a snow ball effect. The addict in me says, “if I could just take something to give me the energy to get through today, then I will be alright.” The logical and sober side of me says, “NO! That is NOT a solution but only a quick fix and will lead right back to where you came from!!!!”

Perhaps I should give the addict in me a specific name. That might just be a great tool of recovery. If I could refer to that side of my mind as a specific person, then I could respond more aggressively. Okay, hmmmmm, what would I call “the addict” in me? If you have any thoughts or ideas to share, please comment. This has me motivated enough to at least get in the shower now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 1:58 am

    Great points! I will be checking back here often!

  2. peglud permalink
    May 11, 2010 2:53 am

    Great idea to give that addict voice in you a name. Hmmmm – should it be a horrible name that you hate, or has some kind of aversion for you? Or, should it be seductive in a way – something that looks/sounds/feels attractive but, of course, isn’t. It’s a ruse – a mask – and deception. I always hated my name (Margaret, after my grandmother, but nickname is Peggy) as a little girl – thought it sounded so old. I wanted something more modern and perky – like, Cherie, or Sherry, or Patsy. So – certain names do resonate for us – but are very personal. Make a list and try a few out. Peggy

    • May 11, 2010 10:00 am

      I like Margaret. Always reminds me of Ann Margaret…..what a classy lady! I like Peggy too 🙂 I’m glad you like the idea of giving my addict voice a name. After I first posted this, I begin to think it was perhaps just a silly idea. Then I wondered if others would think I was crazy…..like with split personalities. LOL. I’m moving forward with the name choice. It may in fact be silly but I believe it will enable me to identify the addict voice/thoughts more easily.

Leave a Reply

