Skip to content

*Gracefully Bowing*

July 1, 2010

I have been feeling very majestic since yesterday! After discovering my post about “baggage” was featured on WP’s Freshly Pressed, I was ecstatic and overcome with a variety of emotions. It is humbling to have so many encouraging and inspirational comments from bloggers all over the world. I would like to thank God first then I want to thank my family, producer, and…just kidding! You thought I was about to go on and on with an acceptance speech, didn’t you? LOL. In all seriousness, I’ve been walking around feeling like I’m famous, like I’m a celebrity (in disguise).

Watching my stats rapidly climb yesterday was a “high” for me which is ironic since my blog is about addiction. I have not come down yet. I’m still walking on clouds and each comment is one step higher for me. I’m enjoying my “15 minutes of fame” with utter delight. Thank you Word Press and thank you bloggers for taking time to read and comment about my “baggage”. I have read and re-read each comment. You guys have marked a memorable day in my life with love, inspiration and hope. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! *gracefully bowing*

P.S. I’ll be signing autographs tonight at 10 PM. LOL 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 12:36 pm

    🙂 It makes me feel happy just to read how happy you are! It was a great post and yours is a great blog. I’m really glad you’re on a natural high!

    • July 1, 2010 1:06 pm

      Thanks 🙂 ….these natural highs are so much better! Hope your mountain climbing is going good and wishing you a wonderful day 🙂

  2. July 1, 2010 1:40 pm

    So happy for you! I just read Baggage Claim and it was such a wonderful post — very moving. I’m looking forward to reading more from you 🙂

    • July 1, 2010 4:25 pm

      Thanks! I have your website listed under my links about addiction. I appreciate all your wonderful posts and enjoy reading them! Thanks for stopping by to visit me. I really appreciate your praises 🙂

  3. katiedawson permalink
    July 1, 2010 4:37 pm

    I saw your post yesterday on WP’s Freshley Pressed :] Definitely made me think the rest of the day. I can’t wait for your posts :] They are so insightful and thought provoking.

    Keep blogging for sure! 😀

  4. gangling permalink
    July 1, 2010 6:13 pm

    Bows to her royal ‘highness’ ;o) I am glad you could find a ray of sunshine. But isn’t that one way of coping with addiction? I know that in some instances, just ‘replacing’ your addiction with another one is not a great idea, but if that something inspires others, makes you feel good, I say thumbs up for your ‘Blogging High’!

    Keep giving us insight into your world…you might never know how much your life affects and inspires others.

    • July 1, 2010 6:42 pm

      Thanks for the “bow”, lol. It’s funny that as soon as I wrote this I began thinking about how easily I could become “addicted” to this blogging fame and it become my new drug of choice. Thank you for pointing this out. It’s important that I act in moderation with everything I do in life. Through my addiction to Oxycontin, I discovered that I am an addict in general. That is, I easily become addicted to anything and everything including blogging. Being aware of this, I am better able to control my impulses and restrain myself accordingly. I appreciate your praises and hope you will continue to give me feedback. 🙂

  5. July 2, 2010 5:58 pm

    I am glad you feel like a celebrity 🙂 You are to Me !

    I have a totally different opinion about addiction. Everyone is addicted, only some things are socially acceptable and some are not. Some compulsions, addictions are even rewarded, damn ! Give me ten minutes with ANYONE and I will find their vice, their addiction or their secret ! That is one of my addictions. Through process of elimination and reduction, we are all addicts and needy infants.

    Just like elitism and money and mental illness and the other various things that seem to separate us from others, the stigma attached to addiction pisses me off! The thief in an addict makes me want to run from them or choke them but it is not the addict that does that. The liar in an addict makes me tend to ignore most of what they say, especially if it involves any actual future. But the addict him/herself is almost as natural as being naked. We are all born with a need or a hole that should be filled. The fact that some people fill that hole with immediate tangible things makes them resourceful but not revolting.

    An addict who is addicted to being a ‘recovering addict’ is annoying, but I know it is a new normal and a healthier one for that person, so I shut the hell up and listen. While a person without an addiction or who claims to have none and further has convinced society that they are the same pillar of such, scares the hell out of me and I would rather be in a hole with an addict then befriend the other guy !

    It takes a lot of energy to supress urges, cravings and desires. It take a lot of judging others and compartmentalizing in order to stay within some social or religious boundaries. It takes a lot of NOT living to live like your not an addict or not like the rest of the world.

    you have heard … there are those who rock the boat and those who row it. Those who are rocking don’t tend to be rowing and so… they are the problem. But I say there are plenty at the bottom of the boat painting water proof layers who never see the ore and never lift a muscle but spend so much time protecting them self by what they think might happen and so…. leave the heavy living up to the rest. A free ride and vicarious but ‘separate’ existence.

    ”Look at me ! ” they exclaim at the gates of St Peter, “I got through life without doing any of that”, “look at me look at me”.

    The boat was never going to sink, not ever. And the painting was only a safer distraction a cleaner addiction and so… smart or not, righteous or not, healthy or not, they made it and I dare say at a staggering price to the rest who are humble enough to say… I am an addict.

    • July 2, 2010 6:52 pm

      First and foremost, thank you so much for your comment! Second and very loudly, you are a talented wordsmith! I love the way you orchestrated your thoughts and articulated them masterfully! If you are not an author, then girl, stop what you are doing this minute and change careers! (Just a suggestion, LOL) 🙂 🙂

      Seriously, you spoke directly to my heart, mind and soul. We are all surely addicts from birth. I have read this elsewhere, that we are born in a “lacking” state, having “a hole that should be filled.” However, as we grow and mentally mature, we can learn ways in which to fill this “hole” in a healthy and productive nature instead of causing harm with things such as Oxycontin. In addition, we learn about moderation and how to control our impulses. Emotional and mental maturity is the key component in conquering addiction. I strive for improvement in these areas every day. Blogging is one of my tools. I learn about myself as I write and most importantly, I learn from others, like you! 🙂 Thanks again and I welcome your comments!

  6. July 3, 2010 6:08 pm

    Well done girl!! I have been enjoying your blog for a long time and I am overjoyed that you made it to freshly pressed. I have just read your post – you touched many many people with Baggage. Keep it up, you are onto something 🙂 . Nora

    • July 4, 2010 12:32 pm

      Thanks Nora! It has been an exhilarating and humbling experience with making it to freshly pressed. I have loved all the wonderful comments. It was such a wonderful surprise. I almost fell out of my chair when I discovered it LOL.

      Keeping you and Hannah in my thoughts and prayers. God bless. 🙂

  7. July 8, 2010 4:32 am

    I completely know what you mean about the stats! I’ve never had anywhere close to 80 comments on a post, but it’s a great feeling when your site gets a lot of traffic, or you receive any number of comments. So inspiring!

Leave a Reply

