Skip to content

I Never Would Have Believed It Until It Happened To Me

July 2, 2010

A floating sensation. A child’s hand. A garden. An out-of-body experience.

Inside Garden 360

I never believed in out-of-body experiences until it happened to me. Perhaps it’s best to preface this story by stating this experience occurred prior to my addiction. In other words, I was not “drugged” in any form at all. I had not been taking any mind altering substances when these events transpired. Furthermore, I experienced this more than once.

Between the ages of 17 and 21, I could “float”. At least it felt like I was floating, up and out of my body. It happened numerous times and always when I was on the verge of falling asleep. But I was not asleep. I learned to semi-control the floating. Before I tell you about that, let me explain the details of my floating.

In bed, eyes closed, drifting softly off to sleep, then suddenly, a zero gravity feeling would flood my veins. I was floating up, toward the ceiling. My body was weightless. I could literally feel myself rising up higher and higher. During the first few times this happened, I fought it. I was terrified. Yet, the harder I would fight to “come down” the higher I would go. It was not until I simply gave up from exhaustion that I would float back down and into my normal state. Thus, I learned to control my “floating” by sort of giving in and not fighting against it full force. This is when I experienced what I refer to as the “out-of-body” experience.

I was 19 and had been up late studying (I was in college). I needed to sleep but when I closed my eyes I began floating. I wasn’t scared because I had grown accustomed to this experience. I let myself float when suddenly I felt a child’s hand holding my own hand. I can’t tell you why I knew it was a child’s hand but I knew. It was a small, soft and gentle hand. The child guided our floating bodies out of my bedroom door. But instead of seeing the hallway normally located on the other side of this door, we were suddenly in paradise. It was the most beautiful garden I had ever imagined. The colors were brilliant and flowers abundant. It was morning time in this garden as the sun was just peeking over the flowers and morning dew kisses lingered over everything like a comforting blanket. I was in awe of all the beauty around me.

Off in the distance there was a man working in the garden. I didn’t recognize him at first but as the child’s hand led me closer, I saw his face. It was my best friend’s dad. He didn’t seem to know I was there as he continued about his work without looking up, content in what he was doing. After a few minutes of observation, the child’s hand began to pull me back. We floated away from the garden and back to my bedroom door. Suddenly I was back in my bedroom and gently floating back down “into” my body. I opened my eyes and looked at the clock. A total of 7 minutes had passed since I had closed my eyes to get some sleep.

Seven minutes of floating. Seven minutes of holding a child’s hand. Had I been dreaming? I know it wasn’t a dream. It was real. I felt the child’s hand. I saw the heavenly garden. I was all too familiar with the floating sensation. Yes, it was real and it was an out-of-body experience. And I never would have believed it until I experienced it myself.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. gangling permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:40 am

    It is often said, that as children, our minds is still open to the world around us. As we grow, our brains form permanent ‘circuits’, conforming our minds to the rigid beliefs of society and we start to explain things from a scientific or logic point of view, cancelling out anything that might not be ‘possible’ according to our now, narrow-minded perspective of the world.

    Some things you can’t explain, even as an adult. We usually just ignore these as ‘coincidence’ or ‘fantasy’.

    I get what you are talking about… Lets just say that in the past, I was associated with certain groups…and beliefs…

    • July 2, 2010 11:14 am

      I believe you’re right in regards to how our minds are more open as a child. But my question is, how can I re-open it as an adult. I never intentionally closed my mind and I don’t want it closed.

      • gangling permalink
        July 2, 2010 1:41 pm

        Yes…that is indeed a very difficult thing to do. I believe there is a saying…’trust like a child’. Trust blindly. Don’t question and don’t try to understand…just let it happen.

        I am scheptical about my self, yet, unless my mind is playing tricks on me, there is definately some truth to certain events and occurences. Some things are a little more than just ‘coincedence’.

        The accident in Part II of ‘Accidental Suicide’…still to come…I ‘saw’ happening a week before the time. Call me crazy…call me ‘disalusioned’ and that it was just the Bipolar acting up…but this was definately a week before it happened. And there is no way that I ‘Caused’ it subconciously…unlike Part I, which I also ‘saw’ but could be construed as my subconcious making it happen.

      • July 2, 2010 2:37 pm

        I’ll be looking forward to reading your Part II post of Accidental Suicide! Thanks for sharing your insight with me. 🙂

  2. July 2, 2010 11:29 am

    How lucky you are experiencing that. I’ve tried to have OBEs before but with limited success. I must try again.

    And thanks for your comment on my post too (the deaf and parrot one)
    🙂

  3. July 2, 2010 1:02 pm

    That is beautiful. You are especially blessed to have had that experience. I call that sort of experience “Grace.”
    Do you ever have flying dreams? Where you are above the earth, kind of like how Superman flew, and in your dream you can control your flying by kind of leaning one way or the other? I love those kind of dreams. And who’s to say they are really dreams??

    • July 2, 2010 1:40 pm

      That is a beautiful way to think of it, “Grace.” I like that. No, I have never had a “flying dream.” Have you?

      I’m certain that mine were not dreams. I was fully aware of each experience as it was happening. Although I was in bed, I was not asleep. 🙂

      • July 4, 2010 2:07 am

        Yes, I have the occasional flying dream, and I am certain they are dreams. The closest thing I’ve had to an out-of-body experience is when I sleep funny on my arm and it falls asleep!

        I’d like to think the flying dreams mean something, but then, maybe that would mean all my goofy dreams mean something too.

      • July 4, 2010 12:36 pm

        Don’t you hate when your arm falls asleep? LOL Your flying dreams sounds very interesting. Dreams are so mysterious and prove that we have yet to understand or even grasp all the intricacies of our brain. I would also like to believe that certain dreams of mine were meaningful. But, like you, I have those “goofy” ones too. God bless and keep up the good work with your blog!

  4. July 4, 2010 3:15 pm

    Hey there, yet another blog that I really relate to and know is not or was not a ‘dream’ or whatever ! I had a very cool ‘god like’ exp. while in the dentist chair. I left 🙂 really left the chair and I was still there…. heehee I am absolutely sure it was ‘laughing gas’ related, but absolutely real and …. well, I will blog about it I guess. Anyhoo – the other day I posted that “you are a celebrity… to me!”
    I had a day or two to think about that and realized it sounded a bit ‘stalker’ or ‘weird’ as we don’t even know each other, or even ‘e-know’ each other. I wanted to re iterate. I too felt like a ‘celeb’ that week. I FINALLY got something published in a real newspaper. You know… the local city paper that lands on the front steps 🙂 It was sooooo cool ! And it was an article that I was sincere about. (1/4 of a page yall ! 1/4 of a page, not just a small column 🙂 )
    anyhoo…. Your status climbing, people talking/commenting etc… We do get to feel like celebs for a second and we should and I just wanted to really validate that for ya. It is that feeling, that notion that you have succeeded that brings out further pieces and awesome and/or even mediocre but TRUE writing in all of us. It changes lives, every little tiny bit (published or otherwise) MATTERS ! Rock on One Pill !

Leave a Reply

