Skip to content

The White Board Strategy

July 7, 2010

When I was in college, specifically when I was taking Calculus, I used a white board to work out my math problems. It was a big help in that when I goofed up (which I did a lot), I could simply erase it and start over. It also allowed me to better visualize the solution because of its size. I would begin by writing the problem at the top of the board in large numbers and letters. Then I would stand back and look at it for a few minutes. This allowed my mind to absorb it and begin processing it before actually attempting to solve it. I would take a deep breath, a sip of coffee then begin working it out. Sometimes I solved it on the first try. Sometimes it took two or three attempts. But I usually solved it (even if my eraser was well-worn).

If only we could solve all problems on a white board. How much easier life would be. I would first purchase BP the largest white board produced. Maybe they could come up with a solution for the gushing oil well in the gulf using my strategy. Next on the white board gift list, President Obama, to assist in solving America’s economy, health care and war issues. (Note to self: purchase extra extra large eraser for President Obama.) Yes, if only the world could erase and start anew with all the problems we are facing today. If only we could write it out in letters large enough to stimulate a solution.

Life has a way of throwing us all some big challenges. Perhaps not on a large world scale, like BP, but large for “our” world. The white board strategy is one way of provoking the thought process for finding a solution. It can be applied in almost all aspects of life. List your problem in large letters at the top. Step back and look it over. Think about it. Ponder over it. Now, you are on the “outside” looking “in” – a subjective view. Write out the solution and step back again to analyze it. Does it make sense? Is the problem solved? If not, simply erase it and try again.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. scandalousmuffin permalink
    July 8, 2010 2:24 am

    I like whiteboards. And I like you. Totally going to follow your blog now.

  2. July 21, 2010 1:06 am

    Great post! Love it!
    on a smaller note, when I homeschooled my kids, 2 of whom were ADD, they each had a laptop whiteboard for taking notes and drawing while I taught, worked great!
    At least now mabye BP won’t need it for fixing the problem, but maybe to keep it from happening again, lol!

  3. August 10, 2010 3:05 am

    Love this idea. Just don’t get a cheapo whiteboard like I have in my office at work. It’s like impossible to erase and has become more of a hassle than it’s worth! 🙂 But it was fun until I realized just how much work it was to clean it off and start over… haha!

Leave a Reply

