Skip to content

SUBMIT APPLICATION

July 24, 2010

How many licks does it take to get to the center of a Tootsie Roll pop? If you can answer this question then perhaps you can also answer the following. How many clicks to submit an application does it take to get an interview? Thus far, I am approximately 50 clicks to zero interviews. The only responses I have received are those automated emails thanking me for submitting my application. It is very discouraging to say the least.

Yet, I press or rather, click, on. I have discovered that the average time it takes to complete an application online is 20 minutes. This does not include the time consumed first by searching for the position available. I have spent about 4 solid days now simply searching and applying for jobs. I remain determined and discouraged all at the same time. I miss the old days of applying in person. I make a great first impression and always used that to my advantage. In today’s job search, there is no face to face encounters. In fact, there is not even an opportunity for a personable email for most of the positions I have applied for. Each company has their own job posting website which is also used to apply for any positions. So along with those approximately 50 application submissions, I have accumulated the same number of user ID’s and passwords. It can be overwhelming at times.

I now consider myself well-trained in job search skills and am considering listing this on my resume!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 5:34 pm

    It’s so hard. My son-in-law is facing the same thing as you are and wants to just crawl into a corner and die. He’s is an IT and in management. He was told on the same day he was terminated that there was downsizing going on and his job was over that very day…without any warning. He and my daughter are now without an income and without benefits as well. Dozens of his co-workers are in the same position as well. Terminated without conscience. This hi-tech world leaves so much to be desired. The humanity is taken from us at the same time as we strive to be unique and special. Any pride we feel must be from deciding for ourselves that we are worthy as living beings. We need to look inward and upward towards God for our rewards and pats on our backs. Faith is all we need and God will do the rest.

    • July 26, 2010 2:51 am

      Thanks for the uplifting and encouraging words. I am putting my faith in God and asking Him everyday to lead me where He would have me be. πŸ™‚

  2. Tery M Aldin permalink
    July 24, 2010 7:56 pm

    I know all too well what you are going through. I am sitting in the same situation…in fact, a teensy bit worste. I have a doctor’s certificate stating ‘Should stop working at firm immediately’.

    Marfan’s, Bipolar, the high stress environment of I.T. (As Addiction Survival Coache’s son-in-law most probably can attess to) has all conspired to force me into ‘retiring’ from software development.

    I am limited in I.T. being the only thing I know but only having development experience. Wha’ts worse is the fact that development has a heafty pay-rate so every one gets scared when they hear I am willing to take a pay cut to the tune of half of my previous income.

    Not even when I explain the situation do they understand.

    The conditions sucks…not being able to pay for theyre medication demands suck even more

  3. July 25, 2010 7:42 pm

    I feel for you. I went back to school so that I could get a job I would love, instead of one that I HAD to have to pay bills. After working my ass off for three years at school, and at a shitty part time job during the summers, I was determined to land a job as soon as I was done with school. And I did. And the best part was, it is my DREAM job.

    I think that if you practice positive thinking you can get a job quickly. Every day when you wake up you have to visualize your self having the job. I know it sounds stupid, but when you wake up, say out loud, ‘I am going to that job at XXX.’ I know it seems new age-y (and I am sooo not like that) but every time I have tried it, it has worked. If you send out positive vibes, they come back to you. And be BOLD. Find a place you want to work, write up a cover letter and resume, and walk in there and apply. Don’t apply for jobs on Monster or whatever. I think it is something like only 1% of job seekers gets a job that way.

    You also need a killer cover letter that will get their attention. If it is a job you really want, do some research, find out how to apply directly, via the post. But even if that is not possible, those online sites usually allow for you to attach a document (cover letter).

    Sorry for the long comment. Keep at it. Stay on track, and shit will come to you. It will.

    • July 26, 2010 2:50 am

      Thanks for the wonderful advice. I’m rolling up my sleeves and digging in! I’m ready to receive good vibes back. πŸ™‚

  4. July 26, 2010 6:38 am

    I wish I could really communicate how much I feel you on this issue… I miss real interviews! I want face time!

  5. coffeepearlsgrace permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:53 am

    Oh, I completely feel your pain!!!! It’s hard right now; but rest assured, you are not alone! Something will work out for you. Just remember, it will really only take ONE click to land that perfect job, and the next application you submit could be it! Keep trying. You’ll get there. πŸ™‚

    P.S. Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting! πŸ™‚

  6. July 28, 2010 2:26 pm

    That sounds really frustrating but it’s great that you’re still persevering and hopeful. I feel sure the right job will come along for you and that you and that this tiring time of finding it will be over soon. I wish you the very best of luck. When I came across a job I really, really wanted out of a list of possibles I went down in person where possible to leave a cover letter, C.V. and show my face and enthusiasm. It got me the job on a couple of occasions! Keep believing in yourself and I believe good opportunities will happen πŸ™‚

    • July 29, 2010 12:16 am

      Great advice and thanks so much for the encouraging words! You are a sweetheart! Hope these words find all well with you. πŸ™‚ I’m reading your latest post right now…. I’ve been waiting for it lol. Love to hear all about those climbs! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

