Skip to content

Check It Out

August 5, 2010

Check It Out

Well, after being unemployed for exactly 23 days, I have received my first unemployment check! Rest assured, I did not hit the jackpot. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about receiving this fully entitled sum of money. I’m merely pointing out that it is not even close to what I was actually bringing home while employed.

How far off is it? Let’s do some simple math here. My total expenses equal the amount of “X”. I was previously earning a total amount of “Y”. After subtracting X from Y, I would have just enough money left over to purchase about 7 pizzas. We’ll call the excess, “7P”. Thus, my employed financial equation was Y – X = 7P.

Are you still with me? My unemployment check is about 58% of what I was bringing home. The amount less than what I was making is approximately 17.5P. This means today’s financial equation looks like this: Y – X = 7P – 17.5P

This can also be stated as: Y – X = -10.5P. In other words, I am negative about 10 1/2 pizzas. I wasn’t going to actually buy 10 1/2 pizzas, but you get the picture, right? There are bills that are not going to get paid, period. Like most unemployed Americans, I’m now being forced to decide which ones absolutely must be paid and which ones can be put off. For example, the electric bill must be paid. Even though I am living in dark financial times, I cannot literally live in the dark. And, to make matters worse, now I’m craving pizza!

Seriously, I am among thousands and thousands of Americans suffering from this recession. I am jobless and unable to pay my expenses with unemployment benefits. I have applied for food stamps, however, I have not been approved yet. I’m worried that my unemployment benefits will disqualify me for food stamps just as it did for an Illinois woman here. Like her, my family will no longer be eating fresh fruits and vegetables. We simply cannot afford them. And no, we will not be ordering pizzas either. Instead, I will continue searching for that “new door to open”.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 10:22 am

    It’s sad. And scary. And enraging! I can understand your situation a bit. At the moment I am waiting to hear whether or not I will get Medical EI. If I do I’ll be extremely grateful for it, but I know it’s not going to be a hell of a lot. Right now the bank account is in overdraft and I’m doing an awful lot of praying!
    I’m hoping it somehow works out for you. Financial stress is awful.

    • August 6, 2010 2:54 pm

      I’m sorry to hear that you are also suffering financially. It is extremely stressful. At times, the stress from financial worries almost convinces me a communist country would be better. That’s a little extreme, I know, but the worries that money produces is just not worth it! I will keep you in my prayers.

  2. August 6, 2010 6:40 pm

    What a tough spot you are in. It sounds like you are keeping your spirits up and your eye on the future. From that stance alone, something good is bound to come your way. As for eating healthily on a budget..pew..thats tough. We went through a hard financial time last year when the UK was hit by the recession. It was tomato pasta every day!!

  3. lallie permalink
    August 6, 2010 10:44 pm

    you got me thinking about pizzas too. ๐Ÿ˜€

    i hope that door opens quick real soon for you. just keep the positive vibes going. hang in there! it’ll all work out for sure.

  4. August 16, 2010 5:32 pm

    “Seriously, I am among thousands and thousands of Americans suffering from this recession. ”

    Make that millions and millions of Americans.

    I wish you all the best and I do hope that you force yourself during this tough time to also get some positives out of it: learn a new skill, look for joy in places you’ve never looked before, etc.

    It always surprises me that people say that you can’t eat healthy on a low budget. I’m 90% plus vegetarian. By just not eating meat, I save money. I also stay away from the processed food and fast food. I make lots of rice that I can save in the fridge and turn into interesting pilafs pending on the things I add to them.

    • August 16, 2010 6:10 pm

      Thanks for the well wishes and great tips! I’ve actually not been utilizing rice as much as I should. Think I’ll make a pot tonight and see how far I can stretch it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Come back and visit soon.

Leave a Reply

