Skip to content

It’s a Southern Thang!

August 11, 2010

Well butter my butt and call me a biscuit! I love being from the South and I love our southern expressions. We sure are a funny  bunch of people! After reading kat’s korner’s latest post about Southern-isms, I would like to add a few of my own.

“I’ll jerk a knot in your tail!”

“I’ll snatch you bald headed!”

“I’ll knock you into next week!”

“I’m plumb wore out!”

“We better high-tail it to the store.”

“I’m fixin to go for a walk.”

“I’m fixin supper.”

“She’s older than dirt!”

“You better git your britches on!”

“If you lie down with dogs, you’ll get up with fleas.”

“If the good Lord’s willin and the creeks don’t rise.”

“She looks like she’s been beat with an ugly stick.”

“I’m too poor to pay attention.”

Those are just a few I hear around my neck of the woods. We also have some unique foods at supper time. For example, one of my favorite meals has always been barbecued bologna, mashed potatoes, macaroni & cheese, and cornbread. The bbq’d bologna is simply fried bologna with bbq sauce over it. Hm Hm good! Yes, we southern folks are strange bunch but we’ve got big hearts. I’m proud to be from the south! Y’all come back, ya hear!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 7:21 pm

    Haha I saw your comment on that other blog and had to come say HI! I’m from good ol’ Michigan, too. Here’s the thing (er…thang)… the only bit of southern lingo I know is that while I use grocery carts here, you need to fetch a buggy to do the trick down there. 🙂

    So you have to inform me..do you know what grits are? Cuz I don’t! :/

    • August 11, 2010 8:57 pm

      Thanks for stopping by to say hi! Michigan is such a beautiful state, especially the Midland / Tri-Cities area (that’s where I was)! Yep, I remember explaining to my friend how it was I used a buggy at the grocery store LOL. Also, we don’t ride toboggans, we wear them on our head!

  2. August 11, 2010 9:47 pm

    You’ve educated a die hard New Yorker. I LOVE this post! 🙂 gimme more

  3. August 11, 2010 10:56 pm

    I know all these sayings too! I have lived in Tennessee for the last 20 years. Being from Germany, it took a while to get used to. Now they roll off my tongue at times. Thanks for sharing this.

    • August 12, 2010 2:37 am

      After being in Tennessee for 20 years, I’m betting you’ve got the southern accent too! Do you? Just curious. Hey, I lived in Ansbach for 3 years. That’s just a couple of hours south of Frankfurt. What part of Germany are you from?

      • August 12, 2010 4:07 pm

        I was born and raised in Würzburg, which is not far from Ansbach at all! How cool is that! Yes, I am told I have an East Tennessee accent together with my German accent. People around here say they love to hear me talk. I live in NE TN now (think NASCAR). I graduated from the University of Tennessee in Knoxville and so did my children (yes, my addict daughter has a college degree!). Go Big Orange!

      • August 12, 2010 4:49 pm

        Okay, this is getting a bit strange! I’m from the greater Knoxville, TN area …. GO VOLS!!!!! And yes, I visited Wurzburg (how do you put those little dots above it?) when I was living in Germany. I went to their Walmart there which was not much of a Walmart at all. But that’s besides the point. I fell in love with Germany and the only reason I’m not still there is because I want my son to be raised around my family. It’s not surprising to me to hear that your daughter is a college graduate. I am also, I went to Maryville College. Hello there neighbor! 🙂

  4. August 11, 2010 10:58 pm

    P. S. Actually, I just mentioned to someone today that I am too poor to pay attention 🙂

    • August 12, 2010 2:38 am

      LOL… I’ve been saying that a lot lately! 🙂

    • August 12, 2010 5:13 pm

      I lived in Knoxville for twenty years until I moved up here 3 years ago. My kids graduated from Powell high school. The way you do a ü is: hold down the ALT key and then type 0525, and that gets it. We are indeed neighbors!

      • August 12, 2010 6:14 pm

        We are indeed very close neighbors! I pray your daughter finds help. I cannot imagine what you have been going through since I’m the one who was the addict. But I know that I put my own mother through way too much pain and sorrow. Keep the hope. Miracles happen every day. I’m certain our paths have crossed for a reason. 🙂

  5. August 11, 2010 11:42 pm

    I’m feelin’ so left out 😦 Nothing at all is funny in New York.

  6. August 12, 2010 12:39 pm

    Hahahaha!! My brother-in-law is from Alabama and it always tickles my funny bone when he talks 🙂 His mother’s name is Mama Isabelle and she is 96 and still rules the roost!
    I love southerners 🙂 One of my favourite place in the world is Charleston SC…

    • August 12, 2010 3:00 pm

      Glad I could make you laugh 🙂 Hey, Charleston, SC is my all time favorite place to visit in the states! So much history! 🙂

  7. August 15, 2010 6:57 am

    My dad always used to say “I’ll stomp a mud-hole in your as# and walk it dry.” I always liked that one. I also liked, “he’s wide open like a pocket knife.” Thanks for the laughs.
    -Josh

    • August 16, 2010 1:17 am

      I’ve never heard those two sayings but they sure do sound like something from around these parts! LOL 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

