Skip to content

Do you Need a Straw? … “NO!”

August 15, 2010

“A short tube intended for transferring a beverage from its container to the mouth of the drinker, by application of a sucking force.” I’m referring to a drinking straw as defined by wikipedia. This simple and popular device that is common in most households and freely distributed in restaurants everywhere is one of my triggers. While in active addiction, I redefined the definition of a drinking straw. It’s basic use remained the same, however, the substance for which it was transferring was not a beverage. It was a crushed Oxycontin pill. And although the application was still a sucking force, this was done via my nostrils and not my mouth.

Yes, I was once a collector of straws. I didn’t pay for them. Why pay for them when I could grab handfuls of straws at any fast food restaurant I visited? I was even thrifty with their use since I would never use a full length straw. Instead I would cut the straw in half and only use one half at a time. Therefore, at any given time, my purse contained at least 3 unopened straws and one half of a straw. I was always prepared.

These days, I don’t particularly like to use a straw to drink out of. Although the sight of one does not cause me to want to use again, it does remind me of how I once utilized these tubular plastic pieces. It would be nice to sit down at a restaurant just once and enjoy a pleasant dinner without the thought of my addictive past. Instead, the server insists on asking me if I need a straw. I politely respond, “no, thank you.” But inside, I’m screaming, “GET THAT DAM* THING OUT OF MY FACE! AND, NO, I DON”T NEED A STRAW!”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 12:43 am

    Thank you for being so honest. I know that is how my daughter ingests her Oxycontin. It scares to think what she does ot her nasal cavities and sinuses, having had sinus problems myself almost all my life. I can’t even imagine the damage this could do over an extended period of times, say 6 + years.

    • August 16, 2010 1:16 am

      There is certainly damage after long term use like 6 years. I am now extremely sensitive to flowery odors such as perfume. In fact, when exposed to such strong odors, I get an instant migraine. I actually have a very small hole inside my left nostril, but I believe this occurred during my heavy cocaine use for about 1 year. I continue to keep you and your daughter in my prayers.

  2. August 16, 2010 6:27 am

    Straws suck.

    Very glad to here you don’t suck anymore.

  3. August 17, 2010 1:21 am

    LMAO! I know this is super serious and all, but when I read the last line I imagined you going total Battle Royal on some Denny’s waitress at like four in the morning (cause that’s around the time I go to Denny’s). Annnnyways, I am going to protest straws for the next week in order to support you and everyone else going through recovery out there. 🙂 Keep going strong lady!!!!

    • August 17, 2010 2:02 am

      LOL, that is certainly a comical scenario! In fact, at 4 in the morning, I just might go off on the waitress that tosses a straw on my table! Thanks so much for your awesome display of support by protesting straws! If only we could get more people on board, we might put a dent in the straw business! LOL 🙂

      • August 17, 2010 2:05 am

        hahaha dent.. such a witty pun. Well it’s definitely something that would be a good cause. As a matter of fact, I am going to do a week at school this semester. Each organization has to do something geared toward community service and/or activism and this will be one of ours! The more we can spread information about this the better! *Inspiration*

  4. August 17, 2010 3:08 pm

    I really can relate to this post–because I used to do the same thing. My thing wasn’t chopping up and snorting oxy’s, though–before I started shooting heroin, I snorted it (and cocaine). Funny, I don’t even see straws in that way anymore–but then, it’s going on 17 years now that I stopped using drugs. As always, it’s nice to read a reminder somewhere to make me say, “God I am so grateful to be out of that hell!”

    Take care,

    Melinda

    • August 17, 2010 3:38 pm

      You are such an inspiration to me! I’ve been reading your blog and admire how far you have come from those dark days of addiction! I too hope for the day that I can see a straw for what it is and NOT for what it WAS in my addiction. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

