Skip to content

The Door

August 18, 2010

I lost my job 37 days ago. I was devastated and depressed as most job seekers who are attempting to live off of unemployment benefits are. I received lots of supportive and encouraging advice from family and friends. One of the most frequent phrases I heard was, “when one door closes, another one opens.” Although this is certainly an optimistic point of view, in my mind I was thinking, “where the hell is the door?!”

Well, I have found the door! Over the past three weeks, I have interviewed with the same company on four separate occasions and with four different people. After the third interview, I got the feeling they might be interested in me. Yet, I began wondering how many interviews it was actually going to take to land this job. My fourth and final interview went great and I was expecting to get a call back within a few days notifying me of an offer for the position. But no call came. I sent an email reiterating my appreciation for their time and expressing my interest and excitement about the position. I received a positive response explaining that they were working with their HR department and would be in touch with me soon. In my mind I had been hired.

Fast forward two days. I receive an email from their HR department. I open it and begin reading, “Dear ____, we appreciate you applying for the position of _____. Unfortunately at this time we have chosen to pursue other candidates…” (blah, blah, blah)! WHAT? NO! I was completely caught off guard and totally shocked. My mind was attempting to process the fact that I had NOT been offered the position. Reality began to set in. Tears were forming in my disappointed eyes. Why? What happened? Collecting myself, I began composing an email to my contact at the company. I thanked her for interviewing me and asked that she keep me in mind if any other positions were to become open. I sadly clicked send and began the process of accepting my sad fate. 10 minutes later, I receive a response back from her apologizing for the email sent to me by HR. It was a mistake! She continued to explain that they were still working the offer up and should have something to me very soon. Shew! Thank God! I see “the door” opening again. That same “door” that just minutes prior had been slammed shut in my face was now beckoning me to enter. That same “door” that minutes prior I had lost the key to, was now ready to be unlocked! And I’m ready to unlock it. I’m ready to walk proudly through it and enter the wonderful world of “my career”.

My family and friends were right! One door closed and another one opened! And off to work I go!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 5:29 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am so happy for you!

    A piece of advice coming from a current college student studying business: apparently this whole “we want you to interview with everyone in the freaking company” is a new hiring technique. They have you meet with various people throughout because it has become less about just doing one job and more about how you would fit with the entirety of the company. It gets to be a bit monotonous at times, but it’s always a good sign if they have you do this.

    Anyways, good luck! 😀

    • August 18, 2010 6:31 pm

      Thanks! It was certainly monotonous! Interview after interview. However, I kept telling myself that it’s great interview practice! With each call back I continued to get my hopes up more and more. I’m really excited! Hope all is well with you 🙂

  2. Helga permalink
    August 18, 2010 7:06 pm

    Good things happen to good people. Congratulations! I was fired last year by a mean employer and I was devasted. But within 3 weeks had had found a new job and I could not be happier. I have worked here now for over 18 months and compared to the last job, I love it. Good luck with your new job!

    • August 18, 2010 8:14 pm

      Thanks so much! I believe in karma and I’m hoping and praying that all the vibes I send out into this universe are only good vibes. Great to hear you are in a much better job environment as well. 🙂

  3. August 19, 2010 8:32 am

    That is amazing! Good for you. I, too, am starting a new job. It’s a fantastic feeling. Especially when it’s a job you WANT:)

Leave a Reply

