Skip to content

What’s in Your Mirror

August 20, 2010

Image

Take a good long look in the mirror. What do you see? Now look again. Look past the physical features. Look past those wrinkles. Look past that mole. Look into your soul and your character. Who is that person staring back at you? What traits, characteristics, personality types do you see? What good qualities are winking back at you? What bad qualities are lurking in the shadows? What do you think of the person in that mirror?

Now, assuming you have children, turn around and go look at your children. I know, you think you have the cutest son or the prettiest daughter in the universe. But look past those physical beauties and take a good long look at who they are becoming. What good qualities are winking back at you? What bad qualities are lurking in the shadows? That’s right! There you are. If you are looking at your children, then you are looking at a reflection of yourself. Scary, uh?

Our children are in fact reflections of who we are. In an article here, this is referred to as incidental learning. They get a lot more from us than just our looks. They watch and observe us constantly. Then they mimic and imitate us. They want to be like us. I don’t know why but they want to be just like their mommy or their daddy. Everything we are doing in front of our children is game for repetition by our children. That’s gotta make you stop dead in your tracks and take a deep breath.

Last night I took my toddler son to church. After fellowship, we continued standing while the last verse of Amazing Grace was being sung. Everyone raised one hand in praise of God during this last verse, including myself. Observing all of us for a moment, my toddler son also raised one hand. I could barely contain my laughter and I’m fairly certain everyone else was holding a chuckle or two back. Watching my son mimic such a beautiful expression of worship made me one proud parent but it also reinforced the impact his environment has on him.

My son will grow up imitating the world around him. He will learn by observing and watching his family, friends and any other person his path crosses. In fact, an article found here, suggests 95% of his learning will come from this type of modeling. But since the majority of his time is spent with me, his mommy, I will have the biggest impact. Therefore, I’m going to keep a close eye on that image in my mirror. I’m going to make sure she is on her best behavior. Shouldn’t you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 12:57 pm

    very true. at about 9 or 10 i could see all my bad habits-thru my kids. stuff i would tell them not to do, i realized i did. all the time (not pick up after myself, yell across the flat etc). But when it comes down to it, i’m ok with it. I’m OK. So if they are slobs and loud, so be it. There are worse things to become.

    • August 20, 2010 1:09 pm

      Oh, Lord, my son is gonna be a slob! I’ve got to start working on being okay with that one! LOL Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

