Skip to content

Ingenuity

August 24, 2010

We humans sure are a clever sort of species. I applaud the group who devised this rolling bed of lake side fun!

My son and I were spending the day with my dad on his pontoon boat Sunday. Dad enjoys just cruising around to the various parts of the lake and sightseeing. We were about half way through our day when we happened upon this clever design. From a distance, we could only see the slide. But as we inched closer and closer to the bank, our eyes and laughter revealed a hidden treasure of ingenuity. Someone or some group had taken an old flat-bed trailer and attached a water slide to the back-end of it. Then, I assume with a motorized truck, backed it down into the lake just far enough so that the slide would be located over a body of water deep enough to slide into. It had obviously been a week or two since anyone had enjoyed this fun contraption because the flat-bed was in need of being moved further out into the lake. Near the end of August, the water levels in this lake begin decreasing, one of the signs I’ve grown to associate with the end of summer.

I grew up spending my summers on the lake with my family. Those memories are some of the most special ones I carry in my heart. Fun times in the water and by the water are forever etched in my mind. Discovering the flat-bed / slide contraption last Sunday reminded me of the time that my brother was also inspired  by the lake. He was only 9 or 10 years old and determined to have a boat. Since my family did not own one at the time, he and his best friend built their own pontoon boat out of Styrofoam and wood. They used a trolling motor for an engine. It was a good design, considering it was built by 9 year olds. The maiden voyage was a family event. We all gathered around the lake bank as the two young boys proudly launched this self-engineered boat. It was a success. And I’m certain my brother was never so proud of himself. It was not long after this that my dad bought our family a boat. Such wonderful memories roused by ingenuity.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 4:14 pm

    Hey One–great post–and what a lovely look into some happy childhood memories. I grew up in Bozeman, Montana and there was a pond a block from our family home. I also have great memories of rafting out on that small pond. I think that’s when I first started fancying myself a pirate! :0)

    Take care.

    Melinda

    • August 25, 2010 6:03 pm

      Thanks for your comment and compliment 🙂 Hope all is well with you and just want you to know that you remain one of my greatest inspirations! 🙂

  2. August 26, 2010 2:36 pm

    I love it!!! You reminded me of so many of my own happy memories. something that I could use today.

    Thanks my friend 🙂
    Carolyn

  3. August 27, 2010 1:52 am

    I spend every possible minute during the summer on South Holston Lake with my husband on our pantoon boat. My kids grew up boating and waterskiing on Norris Lake. Some of the best times I had with my kids were on that lake. Thanks for sharing a lake story.

  4. August 27, 2010 1:53 am

    P.S. I have a lake story on my blog 🙂

  5. August 27, 2010 6:54 am

    Ha! That is fantastic.

Trackbacks

  1. He Didn’t Make It « One Pill Away

Leave a Reply

