Skip to content

I Pray. You Pray. We All Pray!

September 22, 2010

Our preacher says that prayer is the sincere desire of the heart. He means that we don’t have to get down on our knees and call out to God in a ritualistic manner in order to pray. If we have a sincere desire in our heart, then we are praying. I pray constantly. One of my heart’s desires is for all addicts to escape the hellish grips of addiction and find a peaceful and joyous life. I have this thought many times through out my day. However, until he pointed this out to me, I never really thought of it “counting” as a prayer unless I was formal about it. And, therefore, I always felt like I never prayed enough. Come to find out, I’ve been praying a whole lot more that I thought.

How about you? What is your heart’s sincere desire? What do you pray for?

God bless all those who happen upon these words. In Jesus name, Amen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 4:28 am

    Prayer is awesome.

    I can remember a time in high school when I took a friend home after a drama function, and she lived way out in the country. I missed the obscure fork in the road, and got lost about 3o miles from home, and drove on backroads for over an hour before even coming across a small town, and it was even longer before I made it to the highway! This was at night, by the way.

    I used that time to just talk to God. Talk, talk talk… And He kept me calm enough to find a huge gas station, where I called my dad, who knew exactly where I was to come and get me.

    Had I not been talking (praying) to God that entire time, I definitely would have been in hysterics, wondering where I was and when I was going to be found!

    God is amazing, isn’t He?

    • September 22, 2010 5:39 am

      Yes, God is AMAZING! Thank you so much for sharing one of your experiences with me. I also spend a lot of time just talking to God. He continues to answer my prayers in ways that I could never have even imagined. I want to shout it so everyone can know this amazing joy. I thank God that you do. 🙂

  2. peglud permalink
    September 22, 2010 5:42 am

    Thanks for checking in on me and my blog and leaving your supportive comments. That, too, is a form of prayer.

  3. September 22, 2010 6:49 pm

    I love your post and the explanation of prayer. I find that I often pray as you described, just talking to God. Conversational. I even tell Him when I’m angry, because He already knows it. I can’t fool Him. When our sons were at the worst of their addictive drama, God and I had many a conversation where I was honest about the ugly stuff I was feeling. He saw me through. And now, having experienced His love and support, my relationship with Him is deeper than it’s ever been, and I can truly say I wouldn’t trade any of the times we’ve been through together – good or bad. That might sound weird, but I wouldn’t know Him like I do now if I’d never had to rely on Him in the tough times.

    Blessings,
    Cheri

Leave a Reply

